It Feels Like Burning

Babies are cute and cuddly creatures (well, most of them anyway) that are fun to hold until they become inconsolable (or squirmy as hell).

On Friday, February 5, 2010 I became an auntie.  I rushed up to LA where I visited my sister just hours after delivery and I came away with one important thing imprinted on my mind:

FEMALE BODIES WERE NOT MEANT FOR SUCH TRAUMA


Though I have not yet had the pleasure of experiencing the pains of pushing another human body out of a teeny tiny hole, I’ve heard from @dooce readers that giving birth feels like you’re lighting your vagina on fire.

I’ve heard from some mommy friends of mine about other pleasantries regarding pregnancy, labor, postpartum, and breast-feeding.

Which begs the question:

When you’ve already lit your vagina on fire once, how do you decide on a second go-around? Is it true that you really “forget” the pain of it all?  I can’t imagine that I would ever forget my sensitive parts being lit on fire.

Moms, you are so bad ass.

To all you mommas out there…

I leave you with some words from Billy Joel:

“We didn’t start the fire
It was always burning
Since the world’s been turning
We didn’t start the fire
No we didn’t light it
But we tried to fight it”

4 thoughts on “It Feels Like Burning

  1. is that picture of baby neely? if it is, he is theee best looking newborn i have ever seen. never thought of “it” being on fire but appreciate the homage. 🙂

  2. HAHAHAHAHA best post by far! babies are lovely. even pregnancy can be pleasant…at times…but the pains of labor will stay with me FOREVER. i can’t really confirm the fiery feeling in my lady parts since the epidural is the best invention in the world. but the labor pains…now that’s something else….

    why do it again? cuz we ladies are crazy like that! oh, and when i look at my boys’ faces, it’s all worth it! =)

  3. teehee… there’s good pain and bad pain! at least there’s a visible result from this pain. and i think women were meant for this kind of trauma b/c boys can be wusses sometimes and i don’t think they can handle it 😛

Leave a Reply

