No English?

That’s what my grandma used to say every time she opened the front door to a poor sack trying to sell something.  Except it sounded more like, “No eeng-gah-resh-ee?”

My biggest pet peeve growing up was when non-Asian folk  would say to me, “WOW, you speak English SO WELL!”  To which I would respond, “SO DO YOU!”

I didn’t really respond like that.  I would smile and say nothing and let my heart grow black instead.  I had no balls at age 8.

Though, I was shocked when I was in Vegas this past weekend and the older gentleman sitting next to me said to the dealer, “Jinny, you’re the first Korean lady I’ve ever met who’s not a figure skater or a golfer!”  I looked him straight in the eye and said, “Sir, say hello to the SECOND Korean lady you’ve ever met who is not a figure skater or golfer!”

I didn’t really respond like that.  Apparently, I have no balls now either.


I suppose stereotypes have evolved with the times.

Balls.

5 thoughts on “No English?

  1. HAHA i love it! I have no balls either. Though when people ask me, “what country are you from?” I looove to tease them a bit and say “America”.

    They’ll ask, “what country are you reaaallly from?” – and I, of course, continue to say “America” with an intentionally confused look.

    Finally, I relent and say in the most innocent, aloof way, “oh, you mean what country are my PARENTS from?”

  2. nice post amy!!

    and the same thing happened to me in vegas, as ange, when i was carded and the man asked me where i was from and i was like “California.” then he goes, “no, i mean where are you from?” and then i glared at him and meanly said, “AMERICA, but i’m chinese/tawainese….FREAK!!” jk…i left out the freak part…darn.

  3. me and my brother were 2 of 4 asians in our whole school growing up. i love when they ask what their name is in korean. or ask you to say something in korean. like they’re gonna know what you’re saying anyways! Balls.

  4. Great story. I had fun reading it. I think face of America is fast changing and younger Americans are getting use to see the Asians as fellow Americans than the older Americans might. Most top Universities are filled with Asian Americans in double digit rates. Despite the size of population, Asian Americans are much more visible every day. This is a good sign and I thank God that my children are growing up with less pressure to fit in. In fact, they want to find their own unique culture. People like Kevin Jumba and Ryan(NigaHiga), just to name a few, are reshaping American cultural landscape.

  5. My ex-wife (born in Vietnam) was adopted at 2 and raised in the South, and people were often startled when she spoke, assuming that she would at least have an asian accent. My sons, who I am raising, have had to deal with some racism in school recently, which I just found out about.

Leave a Reply

