In Honor of the English Majors

If you are/were an English major in college, it is highly likely that I will love you.  Or in the very least, like you.


I have yet to meet an English major that I did not like (aside from those elitist pretentious pricks in all of my literature classes).  However, I am fairly certain this would change if I were actually in a doctoral program with those elitist pretentious pricks . . . which is why I have chosen to work in an environment where I am surrounded by unpretentious folk who are stupider than I am.  I mean, younger.

I mean, more stupid.

My choice in major could easily be summed up by Hugh MacLeod:

“Back in college I was an English major.  I had no aspirations for teaching, writing, or academe, it was just a subject I could get consistently high grades in.  Plus I liked to read books and write papers, so it worked well enough for me.” – Ignore Everybody and 39 Other Keys to Creativity


AND The Salary Reporter says that jobs for English majors actually do exist.

So there’s hope for us yet.

One thought on “In Honor of the English Majors

  1. Hooray! I was an English major in undergrad. While I haven’t really pursued anything related to it in my career, at least I can write well. 😉

Leave a Reply

