To put it simply…

I finished Ueland’s If You Want to Write last night.  I know I’m going to have to read it again.  In fact, everyone should read this book.

At one point towards the end of the book, I felt like Ueland was speaking directly to me.  I was being reprimanded by someone from the beyond:

“But the main thing is to discover the real.  You, not the bogus literary You who get “A” in your English courses.” – B. Ueland

Well, that’s a bit harsh.  I did get A’s, but I would hardly call myself a bogus literary. . . maybe just bogus.

She went on to say:

“One of the very worst, self-murdering lies that people tell to themselves is that they are no good and have no gift and nothing important to say.” – B. Ueland

Self-murdering?  I should be dead by now.

4 thoughts on “To put it simply…

  1. you are so funny! hey, i like your cover way better than mine. she sounds so contemporary, huh? i felt like she was talking directly to me so often too.

      • oh my cover is the one with a fountain pen on it. we are so funny. we should get together and talk about the book sometime. i have another book recommendation for you. but i want to share some things about it before i give that one to you. i know. sorry. the suspense… mostly about how this book impacted me. (i don’t mean the Bible. haha)

  2. Pingback: My Top *Ten « MiFOCALS

Leave a Reply

