Words

Words make it extremely difficult to write.

Finding the right words to communicate exactly what you want to say and how you want to say it is challenging.

I have been reading a lot this year.  Most of the books ranged from mediocre to terrible.  One in six were excellent.  I am not a math genius, but that percentage is pretty disappointing.

The more I read, the more I am realizing how difficult it is to write (and to write well).  Perhaps it’s because of my limited vocabulary.  I have the vocabulary of a 15 year-old.  This might explain why I scored so low on the Verbal section of the SAT and GRE (ETS is on my black-list).  ***Although, I did discover while playing Moods on Sunday that I was the only person on my team that knew the definition of “aloof.”  That ego-boost lasted about two minutes.

This post is turning out to be much more self-deprecating than I had originally intended.

In If You Want to Write, Brenda Ueland discusses the importance of writing daily in a journal – not a (what she calls) “What I had for lunch today” journal, but a space for you to write creatively and freely.  I convinced KK to buy  me a laptop for this very purpose.  Most of my entries will probably involve judging other people.  Those are the most fun.

One thought on “Words

  1. I know what aloof means! And tedious. How…tedious 😛 I feel smart now too. But if your vocab is of a 15yr old, mine is at a 5yr old. You always beat me in scrabble and every word game!

Leave a Reply

