Ladybug

I found one of these roaming around the “WELCOME” mat inside our front door.

WILLKOMMEN!

It was 6:30 AM when I saw the little creature.  I was still half asleep when I came downstairs to let the dog out when I laid my eyes on it.

A LADYBUG!

I remember finding ladybugs on the playground and letting them crawl all over my hand before I would blow them into the wind for good luck.

For whatever reason, I didn’t feel like letting this ladybug crawl all over my hand.  Maybe it was too early in the morning or the fact that I hadn’t had my morning coffee, but the thought repulsed me.

So first, I tried flicking it.  And when that didn’t work, I had the brilliant idea of using my sandal to push it out the door.  In my sleepy stupor, I must have put a little too much weight on the sandal.  The result:   ladybug murder.

So now there is a shell of a ladybug outside my door, haunting me.

One ladybug legend states that “killing one is said to bring sadness and misfortune.”

WILLKOMMEN!

One thought on “Ladybug

Leave a Reply

