School Lunches

I’ve been reading Anne Lamott’s book on writing, Bird by Bird, and in it she mentions how Flannery O’Connor once said that anyone who has survived his/her childhood has enough material to write for a lifetime.

Well ain’t that the truth.

On a side note:  Does anyone know how to properly cite when you quote someone who quotes someone else?  I seem to have missed this somewhere in my 4 years of undergraduate study in English literature.  Or maybe I just forgot.

So Anne (we are on a first-name basis) spends a chapter writing about school lunches:

“I know I set out to tell you every single thing I know about writing, but I am also going to tell you every single thing I know about school lunches, partly because the longings and dynamics and anxieties are so similar.” p. 33

And then she spends a few pages writing about the different types of jams and the hierarchy of jams:

  1. Grape jelly
  2. Strawberry jam
  3. Raspberry jam
  4. Apricot jam

I know I’m not the only Asian kid out there who has absolutely no idea what she is talking about.

A hierarchy of jams?  I used to count my lucky stars when Mom gave me a Lunchables to take to school.  On most days I got a dollar for whatever garbage the school was offering that day.  75 cents for sloppy joes and 25 cents for the gigantic dry chocolate chip cookie.  Sometimes I’d forget about the quarter and it’d go straight into the trash.  I don’t think I had peanut butter and jelly sandwiches often enough to establish a hierarchy.  And I usually ate with the two other Asian kids at school who also had to stand in the lunch line.

4 thoughts on “School Lunches

  1. that’s because you went to the elementary school on the “nicer” side of G.G.

    i used to bring kim-bap to school (chinese style) and was ashamed to eat it because once seaweed festers in moisture it starts to smell like rotten fish.

    i’m going to do the exact same thing to my kids to toughen them up.

  2. I believe if there is a quote within a quote you use single quotation marks around the inside quote. For example a bad example, but an example none the less.

    Amy asked me yesterday, “Did you hear when that chick over there yelled ‘GET OUT OF HERE BASTARD!’ and then proceeded to throw all of his stuff out of the car window and drive off?”

    I believe that is correct, but look it up haha. =D

    P.S. My mom never got us lunchables. I always wanted them, but a couple of months ago I was hungry and went to buy one and realized, they are SOOOOOOOO bad for you. So I’m glad she never bought them. I did get a packed lunch quite often, but if I did have Peanut butter and jelly sandwiches I only liked Grape and Strawberry Jelly. So I don’t understand the hierarchy either.

    • =)

      I know how to use the single quotations within the double quotations, but my question is about citation. If Anne Lamott is quoting another author (Flannery O’Connor) and I’m quoting Anne Lamott, then do I use Anne Lamott or Flannery O’Connor in the citation? Who should to “credits” go to, in other words?

      (Anne Lamott, Bird by Bird, p. xx)

      OR

      (Flannery O’Connor, ___, p. XX)

Leave a Reply

