Reading and Writing

In her book, Bird by Bird, Anne Lamott encourages aspiring writers to get in the habit of writing at least 300 words a day.  At the end of this sentence I’ll have written 33 words.

So 300 words would be 10x the amount I have just written above.

That’s quite a bit for someone with zero inspiration.

Eugene Cho wrote the other day about being a writer’s funk.  I can relate.

Maybe the lack of inspiration is a result of the endless number of social gatherings/parties/events we’ve been attending these past few weeks.  When I get home at night, I’ve been staying up until the wee hours to read (and not write), hoping to spend some alone time in my books and be inspired.  Instead, I feel extra sleepy.  I guess that’s the INTROVERT in me coming out.  Myers-Briggs says so.  Or Carl Jung rather.

Time for a nap.

2 thoughts on “Reading and Writing

  1. hey, i know eugene cho. i served in children’s ministry with him in korea. just read his blog. i feel the funk too.

  2. One percent inspiration, 99% perspiration, remember? When I sit down to write I try not to give up until I have produced something–something–that pleases me. I am a poet, so that might be a word, a line, a rhyme, correct meter, or correct form. Hard work? You bet. But worth it? Ah, yes! It feels good to sweat over what others might consider the small stuff, but I love doing the work.

Leave a Reply

