Countdown

I feel like I’m a time bomb waiting to explode.

I suppose you could read that as a figure of speech, but I envision a baby exploding out of my private parts . . . like something out of a science fiction movie.

At first I was scared I might go into labor at work (since I was working up until one week before my due date).  Now I’m wondering if I’ll have to wait until July to see my baby.  Something in the middle would be nice.

These last few days have been filled with an endless amount of cleaning, home improvement projects, and movie-going.  In the last two weeks I have watched Bridesmaids, Midnight in Paris, X-Men:  First Class, Kung Fu Panda 2, and Super 8.  Today we’ll be watching Fast Five, tomorrow Water for Elephants, and Bad Teacher on Friday if the baby still hasn’t made her appearance.  Tree of Life is also on the menu, although I have no idea what it’s about except that Brad Pitt is starring in the movie, which is reason enough to watch it.

Late last night, after my fourth load of laundry as I was washing dishes for the third time that day, I noticed a tear in one of our dish-washing gloves.  I asked Kevin what time Target opens so that I could go and buy a pair.

“You want to go to Target as soon as they open so you can buy dish washing gloves?”

My husband thinks I’m crazy, but I think it makes perfect sense to want to stock the house with everything we might possibly need for the next three months.

All this to keep my mind distracted from constantly wondering when we will get to hold our daughter.  I could easily think about that during my wakeful hours.

So now we wait.

2 thoughts on “Countdown

Leave a Reply

