Catching My Breath

I’m glad I was able to manage to write SOMETHING down about my birth story in those first couple of weeks.  I’m fairly certain I wouldn’t have remembered everything in detail if I had waited to write about it, what with “mommy brain” and all (which I have discovered, is a REAL thing).  I can barely recall what I ate for dinner last night.  I think it was Anne Lamott who said that when you give birth to a baby, 15% of your brain comes out with it.  Whole words fall out of your head, you forget how to get from point A to point B, and you long for the days when uninterrupted sleep was not a distant memory and you were able to function as a normal human being.  Did you know that interrogators use sleep deprivation as a torture tool for prisoners of war?  Welcome to motherhood.

I actually started this post about a week ago and it has been sitting in my “drafts” folder.  I’ve also been taking notes in my “great ideas” folder about things I wanted to remember or write about the first few weeks of motherhood.  I’m still debating whether or not to write about them for fear of 1) scaring the daylights out of those who are pregnant or ever wish to have children and 2) getting my tubes tied and closing up shop forever.  If you want the details, let me know.  Or perhaps I’ll be brave (or mean) enough to post them here in due time.

Now that I am beginning to enjoy my girl more and feel less like I am losing my mind, I think I can begin to write again.  It helps that I get to wake up to this face each day:

6 thoughts on “Catching My Breath

  1. ooo welcome back!! 🙂 happy to see you’re writing again! and…i’m all for reading an unedited tell it like it is post…do it..it’s your blog anyway 🙂

Leave a Reply

