Baby Board Books for Arts & Literature Lovers

I am an arts and humanities nerd by nature.  I was born this way.  My favorite classes and subjects growing up were English, music, and history (in that order).  Learning about different literary periods, historical events and eras, reading and analyzing texts, and making music always fascinated me from a very young age.  In my elementary school yearbook, my answer to “what do you want to be when you grow up” was “a professional musician.”  I am convinced I lacked the necessary discipline and talent required to do this, but I loved being immersed in music during my formative years.  In being true to my Korean stereotype, I took years of private lessons in both piano and violin, and while I did not enjoy every single second of it, the pain was self-inflicted rather than forced upon me.  I begged my parents to let me play, and I subjected them to years of torture; if you have ever listened to a beginner attempt to play the violin, you will understand what I am saying.

I did not become a professional musician.  Some time in high school I fell in love with literature and history, and decided to pursue English as a major in college; history was a close second.  I went on to pursue a master’s degree in higher education, and now I work with college students pursuing the visual and performing arts.  I suppose you could say I have come full circle.

Occasionally I imagine what it might be like to go back to school for a master’s degree in creative writing.  Perhaps in another world in another lifetime.  One where there are 48 hours in a day and sleep is not required.  And one where I am obscenely rich.

Literature, writing, music, the arts – these have all been very close to my heart for a very long time.  You can imagine my excitement when I discovered the Mini Masters Board Books for babies.  This was one of the first items I put on Sassafras’ birthday wish list!

I also discovered the BabyLit books and had to have them.  I think I was more excited about getting the BabyLit Pride & Prejudice book than Aliya was:

She just loves that Mr. Darcy!

We currently own the BabyLit Pride & Prejudice, Alice in Wonderland, and A Christmas Carol books; I can assure you my next BabyLit purchase will either be Jane Eyre or Romeo & Juliet.

These books are a fantastic way to introduce your little one to the world of classical literature and the arts!  And if you are an arts and/or literature nerd like myself, I think you will appreciate them too.

Leave a Reply

