New Addition, New Home

The month of May (along with the first part of the year) has flown by in the blink of an eye.  In the last two months,we put an offer on a home, purchased a home, sold a home, renovated a home, and moved.  We only moved a few miles from our previous home, but for someone whose parents have lived in the same home for the last 30 years, moving for me has been a huge transition.  My husband, on the other hand, moved at least six times just during elementary school, and deals with these transitions much differently than I do.

 Taking a breather from “home” work to celebrate Mother’s Day

We knew with Baby No. 2 on the way, we could definitely use more living space.  And while we were not actively house searching, we fell upon this house and knew even though it was a fixer, we would be getting a fantastic deal.  We went to look at the house once and purchased it.  We never looked at any other homes.  This would be when my obsession with HGTV began.  I’m fairly certain I have seen every episode of Property Brothers, and my fair share of Flip or Flop, House Hunters Renovation, Fixer Upper, and Flipping Vegas.  I always thought they made the new homeowners look crazed for dramatic effect until I realized moving into a fixer upper is incredibly stressful!

Though the renovation process has been frustrating and less than ideal at times, we are nearing the end of interior work that needs to be done on the house and I am beginning to see a light at the end of the tunnel.  Being seven months pregnant has also added all kinds of fun to this process, what with my frustrations of being physically incapable of doing very much, and with my feelings of urgency and a desire to begin nesting, cleaning, and creating a home and space for my family (and my newest little one, come August).  One day my house won’t be filled with workers, trash, boxes, and tools.  We are getting there, slowly but surely!

Luckily, we have been blessed with some very dear family and friends who have given their time and helping hands to help make this process less stressful for all of us.  As luck would have it, it was 104 degrees on the day of our move, and since the house is an older home with no central AC and poor insulation, the temperature inside was just about whatever it was outside.  Just looking at the mountains of boxes in our new living room was overwhelming:

Since there was no way any of us could comfortably sleep inside the house (not to mention the fact that there were no faucets or working appliances installed yet), my mom suggested we book two nights at a hotel to ride out the heat wave, and she offered to watch Aliya.  Then on our first night in the house, two of my mama friends came over after putting their kids down and worked their magic on unpacking our kitchen.  The night after, we had another two friends come and unpack the rest of it, and then our living room looked like this:

What they did in a few hours would have taken me at least a week to do on my own, in my current condition.  Do I have fantastic friends, or what?

 Before we left our keys and said goodbye to our first home together, we managed to snap a picture in front of our house:

We spent the last seven years building some wonderful memories in that home, and I am looking forward to the new ones we will make in our new home.  I’ll be spending the next nine weeks turning the house into a home and getting ready for baby!

Leave a Reply

